The UK left the European Union on 31 January 2020.

The terms of the Brexit deal (the Withdrawal Agreement) provide for a transition period to 31 December 2020 during which the UK will be regarded as if a Member State for the purposes of participation in Horizon 2020 funding.

  • Eligibility to apply for ERC or Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship grants continues unchanged until 31 December 2020
  • Eligibility to take part in collaborative applications (as coordinator or as a partner beneficiary) continues unchanged until 31 December 2020

Evaluation will not be affected by Brexit.

The terms of the withdrawal agreement also guarantee that UK participation in ongoing projects, and in new Horizon 2020 projects, will be funded by the EU for the full duration of the projects regardless of start and end dates.

The UKRI statement and further information can be found on the UKRI website.